

# Mason County Promise Zone Authority Board Meeting Meeting Minutes: Monday, October 9, 2023, 3 p.m. - 5 p.m. Location: Lakeshore Resource Network Conference Room, E. Tinkham, Ludington, MI

#### **Members Present:**

Juliana Anderson, Fabian Knizacky, Roger Nash, Amy Pepper, Chad Riffle, Monica Schuyler, Kathy Surd, Dena Thurston, Joan Vidak, Annette Quillan

# **Members Absent:**

Vic Burwell

### **Staff Present:**

Jody Maloney

- 1. **Call to Order:** Schuyler called the meeting to order at 3:01 PM.
- 2. Limited Public Comment: None
- 3. Approval of the Agenda: Motion by Knizacky to approve the agenda, supported by Thurston; motion carried 10-0-1.
- 4. **Approval of the Minutes from 9-11-2023:** Motion by Knizacky to approve the minutes, supported by Nash; motion carried 10-0-1.

### 5. Treasurer's Report:

- a. Balance Report for September 2023: \$1,449,323.85; Knizacky reported that changes from last month included \$5001.99 in dividend income, and the first payment of the Educational Supplies Award.
- b. Invoices (all included in approved budget):
  - i. WSCC for Educational Supplies Award FA23: \$44,114.92
    - 1. 90 students awarded based on FAFSA completion & registration by August 1, 2023; one dropped prior to using award, and one dropped after using a partial award, for a total of 89 awarded.
- c. Approval of Invoices & Treasurer's Report: Nash motioned to approve the invoice and Treasurer's Report, supported by Riffle; Motion carried 10-0-1.

# 6. Director's Report

a. *Approval of Director's Report*: Surd made a motion to approve the Director's Report, with support from Vidak; Motion carried 10-0-1.

# 7. New Business

- a. Guest Presentation: Wendy Wells provided an overview of the 2023 College for Kids program at West Shore Community College, including 284 9-15 year-old students, 155 from Mason County. 25% of Mason County youth depended on transportation provided by the program to get to campus. 41 sections of 26 classes were offered. Board members requested a copy of the presentation, which Maloney will distribute.
- b. Committee Reports:
  - i. Appeals Committee: Met: 10-9-23@11AM; Next Meeting: 12-4-23@11AM
    - 1. 10 appeals considered: 9 approved, 1 deferred to December
    - 2. Recommendations will be provided at the Board meeting:
      - a. Recommendation to Approve 9 Appeals: Motion by Riffle to approve the 9 recommended appeals, with support from Knizacky; Motion carried 10-0-1.
      - b. Request for input on Appeals to exceed 72 credits: Motion by Vidak to empower the Appeals Committee to support appeals beyond 72 credits, supported by Nash; Motion carried 9-1-1.
      - c. Recommendation to Remove the 9-Credit Minimum Requirement: Motion by Knizacky to remove the 9-credit minimum for fall and winter semester for the next Promise Zone



plan amendment, with support from Nash; Discussion: Surd inquired how it would affect the Educational Supplies Award eligibility, which would remain available for two years; Motion carried 10-0-1.

- ii. Student Success Committee: Met: 9-25-23@10AM; Next Meeting: 10-23-23@11AM
  - 1. Recommendation: 2024 FAFSA Initiative: Motion by Knizacky to approve the recommendation to include 2024 FAFSA Completion Initiative funding at last year's rates (\$5000 total) in the 2024 proposed budget, supported by Riffle; Motion carried 10-0-1.
  - 2. Recommendation: 2024 College for Kids Scholarships: Motion by Nash to approve the recommendation to fund College for Kids scholarships in 2024, providing up to \$25,000, with a request to include the number of scholarship recipients on the invoice, supported by Anderson; Motion carried 9-0-1-1 (Pepper abstained due to conflict of interest).
- iii. Community Engagement Committee: Did not meet; Next Meeting: 11-1-23
- iv. Executive Committee: Did not meet; Next Meeting 10-16-23@1PM
- c. Board Member Terms Ending on December 31, 2023:
  - i. The following Board members are up for renewal; renewals will be voted on in October: *Motion by Knizacky to accept the two renewal letters (Quillan renewing, Thurston not renewing), supported by Pepper; Motion carried 9-0-1-1 (Thurston abstained).* 
    - 1. Annette Quillan—Local--Submitted intent to renew
    - Monica Schuyler—Must submit intent in October 2023; No action from Board required. Schuyler
      indicated intent to renew. Maloney will submit a renewal request letter prior to the November
      recess.
    - 3. Dena Thurston--Local—Submitted intent to decline an additional term

### 8. Old Business

- a. 2023 Amended Plan (REF #6): Motion to Approve Needed: Motion by Knizacky to approve the amended plan with the added removal of the 9-credit minimum requirement, supported by Nash; Motion carried 10-0-1.
  - i. Authorize by Signing Concordance: Members who were present signed the concordance as reflected in the form attached to the minutes.
- b. 2023 SET Capture: \$948,654.00
- c. Growth Discussion: Follow-Up: Riffle requested that the form be emailed so that Board members could provide individual responses to the Director.
  - i. Success Coaching: SSC is working on questions
  - ii. Expansion to Other Institutions
    - 1. Clarifying question submitted: What institutions do students typically attend? Maloney reviewed that the top five college trajectories over the last five years for Mason County-based students were GVSU, MSU, Ferris, U of M, and MTU, in that order, with GVSU, Ferris, MSU and MTU serving students from four schools, and Ferris serving students from all five.
- 9. Any Other Business: Pepper shared that Michigan ReConnect has expanded to support students age 21-24.
- 10. Limited Public Comment: None
- 11. Adjourn: Schuyler moved to adjourn the meeting at 4:35 PM.



# Mason County Promise Zone 2023

# **CONCORDANCE - SIGNATURES:**

We, the undersigned, have mutually committed to the content and scope of this amended plan. The Mason County Promise Zone Authority Board will work together to accomplish the goals and objectives, and implement the requirements set forth in this document. Approved by a majority of the Board members on October 9, 2023.

Name & Role	Signature
Monica Schuyler, Chair Legislatively Appointed Member	Alla Cew
Dena Thurston, Vice Chair Elected Member	Dena Shuiston
Fabian Knizacky, Treasurer Elected Member	Fabrier & Kningacky
Kathy Surd, Secretary Elected Member	hatty & the
Juliana Anderson Elected Member	gliani Anderson
Victor Burwell Legislatively Appointed Member	
Roger Nash Elected Member	Roger Pash
Amy Pepper Elected Member	Amy Pepper
Annette Quillan Elected Member	axination dewan
Chad Riffle Elected Member	Chad Miffle
Joan Vidak Elected Member	Joan Vidak